Maurice Ravel (1875-1937)

String Quartet in F major

I. Allegro moderato– très doux

II. Assez vif – très rythmé 

III. Très lent

IV. Vif et agit

Ravel’s only string quartet was the product of his last year of study with Fauré, to whom he dedicated it with affection and amazingly the glorious first movement was the submission that failed to win its composer the 1903 Prix. The first performance of the Quartet took place at the Société Nationale de Musique — a prestigious place indeed for a “failure” — on March 5, 1904, by the Heymann Quartet.Ravel’s clarity of structure, innovative textures, and thematic transformations within and between movements  reflect its unique nature in this particular musical genre.